STUVA Prize 2017



At the STUVA Conference 2017 in Stuttgart, STUVA (Research Association for Tunnels and Transportation Facilities) will award the STUVA Prize 2017 for outstanding innovations in the field of underground construction.


Originally, STUVA established the prize in order to promote the idea of making better use of underground space among professionals and the general public. Since its introduction in 1997, the prize has been awarded once every two years at the STUVA Conference. The prize consists of an original sculpture especially designed and executed for the occasion by a well-known artist.


Honoured are those persons whose work is considered to be an exceptionally outstanding innovation in underground construction or related fields. Included are all fields of underground construction, such as planning, construction, operation, safety issues, environmental protection, theory, experimentation, efficiency, financing and marketing. In addition, persons who have devoted their working lives to tunnel or underground construction are eligible to win.


Winners of the STUVA Prize to date:


1997 Ltd. Baudirektor Rolf Bielecki

1999 Dipl-.lng. Claus Becker

2001 Prof. Wolfgang Brameshuber

2003 NEAT Project, Switzerland

2005 Dr.-lng. E. h. Martin Herrenknecht

2007 Betuwe Route Project, Netherlands

2009 Prof. E.h. Heinz Duddeck

2011 Citybanan Project, Stockholm, Sweden

2013 Baurat h. c. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Georg-Michael Vavrovsky

2015 Wehhahn Line Project, Düsseldorf, Germany


Candidates can either apply personally or be nominated by third parties. The following must be submitted to STUVA e.V.:


  • Presentation of the innovation, its practical uses and its impact (maximal 10 pages plus illustrations),
  • Details about the creator(s) of the innovation (curriculum vitae).


The Jury is made up of STUVA's Board of Directors.


We reserve the right to consult external experts. No recourse to legal action is permitted.


The deadline is 1 March 2017.

Media partner